STLA Honours & Awards

The STLA has honoured and awarded special individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the legal community and to the association as a whole. Honourable mentions are as follows:

The STLA Justice W. Frank Gerein Memorial Award, established 2017, honours member(s) of the profession who have made outstanding contributions to the legal community through involvement in voluntary and cause-related legal work; has demonstrated professional excellence in legal practice through examples of quality legal services, client relations, innovative programs; has promoted, encouraged or influenced students, graduates or practitioners.; and, has demonstrated civility in their dealings with other counsel and the Bench.
Ashley M. Smith – November 3, 2017
The STLA Outstanding Lawyer Award, established 2016, honours member(s) of the profession who have demonstrated the ability and drive to go beyond the call of duty, whether for the benefit of their clients, the betterment of the legal profession or to further a cause of justice, in general, for the people of the province of Saskatchewan.
Aaron A. Fox, Q.C. – May 12, 2017
Kenneth W. Noble, Q.C. – May 6, 2016
In recognition of 10 or more years of service and dedication to the Saskatchewan Trial Lawyers Association and its members.
Mark R. Vanstone – May 6, 2016
Micheal P. Hudec  – May 4, 2012
Special Recognition to Supporting STLA Judges who have made an outstanding contribution to STLA's continuing legal education and to the profession as a whole.
Hon. Mr. R.L. Barclay
Hon. Mr. Justice W.F. Gerein
  STLA 25th Anniversary Dinner – May 14, 2010
In recognition of recent retirement and exceptional contribution to the legal profession.
Mr. Silas Halyk, Q.C.
   STLA 30th Anniversary Dinner – May 1, 2015
Mr. William Roe, Q.C.
   STLA 30th Anniversary Dinner – May 1, 2015
Hon. Mr. Justice Mr. Calvin F. Tallis (Saskatchewan Court of Appeal)
   STLA 20th Anniversary Dinner – April 29, 2005
Reginald A. Watson, Q.C.
Who exemplified the spirit of STLA with fearless campaigning for access to justice and the right to a jury trial, who has promoted the goals of association through significant contribution and excellence in continuing legal education and leadership activities.
STLA 20th Anniversary Dinner – April 29, 2005
STLA Founding Members
In recognition of STLA's founding members who over 20 years continued to support the association with their membership without a lapse in their membership:
Ms. Audrey Brent, Mr. Kristian Eggum, Q.C., Mr. Kenneth Noble, Mr. Manny Sonnenschein, Q.C., Mr. Gary Young, Q.C. and Mr. Clifford Wheatley, Mr. Roger Arendt, Mr. Ronald Balacko, Mr. Glenn Forrester, Ms. Margaret Gordon, Q.C., Mr. William Klebeck, Mr. Chris MacLeod, Mr. Barry Morgan, Q.C., Mr. Dean Muma, Mr. Ted L. Priel, Q.C., Mr. Orest Rosowsky, Q.C., Mr. Daniel Shapiro, Q.C., and Mr. Harvey Walker, Q.C. 
  STLA 20th Anniversary Dinner – April 29, 2005





May 11, 2018

Spousal Support Family Law Conference

Featuring keynote presenter, 

John G. Cox

John Cox Family Law, Barristers & Solicitors, Oakville, ON. 

TCU Place, Saskatoon


Conference Registration Brochure & Session Details

For more information contact the STLA office via email


Short in CPD Credits?

Order past Teleseminars:

See Registration Form for programs offered

1 CPD Credit/Teleseminar
To register, complete the registration form above or contact the STLA office at